As you probably already know, Apple does not allow applications to run in the background.
What this means is once you leave BeejiveIM (to answer the phone, check email, play Super Monkey Ball)
BeejiveIM is essentially turned off.
Luckily we can leave you logged into our servers for a period of time (of your choosing)
so messages can still get to you when you open BeejiveIM back up.
But how do you get notified of a new IM if BeejiveIM is closed?
Easy, we can send you an email. Your iPhone already notifies you when you get one of those.
- Push Email Alert: Activate the push email alerts
- Email Address: The email address where you want the alerts to be sent.
- Exclude Disconnects: Select whether or not to receive notices when your accounts are logged off.
- Session Timeout:Select the amount of time you'd like to remain logged in after BeejiveIM is closed.
This works best if you use an email address that gets sent to the Mail application on your iPhone or iPod Touch.
This works great if you use a MobileMe, Yahoo, or MS Exchange email address that gets pushed
to the Mail application on your iPhone or iPod Touch.
And, if you carrier supports email to SMS conversion, you can have your email alert SMSed to you by using a carrier specific email address (like firstname.lastname@example.org - for example).
Please check your carrier for more information on how to have an email SMSed to your phone.
changes will not take effect until the next time you open BeejiveIM.